All Articles, Guest Article

Explaining the L0 Judge Test Answers – Using the CR

Hello readers,
My name is Ronan Morris, I am an Australian L1 official judge, I have judged at the GP level.
I recently took the online Level 0 judge test to see what the questions were like and I scored 100%.  I was invited to write a breakdown of the correct answers to each question by the TCG Scrubs team in order to help everyone understand the rulings and further their Force of Will game knowledge 🙂
I will be referencing relevant CR excerpts, which stands for the “Comprehensive Rules” document, which can be found on the official Force of Will site and contains detailed breakdowns of all the rules for this game.
Question 1) D
Automatic abilities can be identified by the arrow (=>) that separated their trigger condition from an effect
 
CR “”906.1. Abilities described as “<trigger condition> => <effect>” are automatic abilities.””
Question 2) A
Because Speaker’s ruler ability directly instructs the player to “play the copy” of the revealed card as a part of its effect, you may ignore normal timing rules on the card. E.g. you can play Black Tears (A normal Chant card) at Quickcast speed.
Gill Lapis’ J-Ruler ability is different, because it says that “you may play the card without paying its cost until end of turn”, which just gives permission for the player to play it normally means that you must still meet timing and condition restriction of the card that you are playing.  E.g. You cannot play a normal chant from you opponents removed area at Quickcast speed.
Question 3) B,C,D
Cards that do not display a printed cost are treated as if they had a total cost of 0.  If an Inverse card is moved from the field to another zone via a non-playing method, the card moves to the new zone Hope side up.
 
CR “”203.5a. If a card doesn’t have any cost, the total cost of that card is 0.””
CR “”1302.3e-i. If an Inverse card moves to a zone by a non-playing method, unless otherwise specified, that card moves to the new zone physically hope side up.””
 
 
Question 4) B
During a priority sequence in Force of Will, rules processes (such as checking if a resonator has 0 or less defence) are checked before triggered automatic abilities are played onto the chase.  So, Nicole plays Alisaris and his “enter the battlefield” ability triggers, but before it is played onto the chase, Alisaris immediately dies and his “put into a graveyard” ability also triggers.  Now that rules processes have been applied, Nicole may play triggered automatic abilities.  As there are multiple triggered automatic abilities that happened at the same time, Nicole may choose which order she plays the abilities.
 
CR “”602.1. When players perform a priority sequence, do the following:
602.1a. If there are any rule processes to perform, do them. Repeat this while there are still rule processes left to perform left.
602.1b. Choose and play triggered automatic abilities “”

CR “”603.2. If more than one automatic ability is triggered, the turn player chooses one among them that they control, if any exist. If none of them are controlled by the turn player, the non-turn player chooses one among them.
                …
603.4. If any ability is chosen, repeat this priority sequence from the beginning “”
Question 5) A,D
Sha Wujing’s ability applies an additional cost to his opponent’s chants, and this does not affect the “total cost” of a card, so Excalibur can be cancelled. 
X values in card costs DO contribute to total cost, so Final battle is not cancelled. 
Severing winds can be played using an alternate cost if conditions are met; however its total cost is still considered to be “4”.  
As “The eternal tower’s” ability is an automatic effect, it its still able to cancel “Evil elemental uprising” as using automatic abilities is exempted from the definition of “chasing” in the CR.
 
CR “”203.5. The total cost is the number of wills needed for the attribute cost plus the number on the free cost.
203.5a. If a card doesn’t have any cost, the total cost of that card is 0.
203.5b. If a card has a free cost of X, X is the value you chose when paying for the card, while the card is on the chase. When that card is anywhere else, treat the value of X as zero. “”
CR “”1008.2. An effect that says, “cannot chase” to a card or an ability means “as long as the card or ability is in a chase area, you cannot put another card, or an ability that is not an automatic ability into the chase area”. “”
Question 6) A,C
As per CR 201.5, if a card refers to just “resonators” without specifying a zone, a card in the field is affected.  Therefore, Keez’s call is only able to cancel abilities of resonators in the field.  Although misty dragon and gem beast are not on the field at the time of their abilities being on the chase, misty dragons delayed trigger was created when it WAS on the field, so it is cancellable and the source of “enters the graveyard” triggers are of resonators in the field, per CR section 906. 7 & 906.7b.
A resonator played via stealth is not considered an automatic ability, it exists as a resonator spell on the chase.
Wilful samurai spirits automatic ability triggers moving from hand to graveyard, it never exists on the field so Keez’s call cannot cancel it.
 
CR “”201.5. If a card is referred to by its type name without specifying what zone it’s in, the card in the field or a ruler area is affected. If a card is referred to by its “(type name) card” in a zone, it refers to a card with that type in that zone. “”

CR “” 906.7. Some automatic objects trigger when a card moves from one zone to another. If these objects refer to the moved card or other cards moved at the same time, they refer to the information or status of the card as below:””
“”906.7b. If the card moved from a ruler area or the field to an area that is not a ruler area or the field, or vice versa, the ability refers to the card when it’s in the field or a ruler area””
Question 7) B
All effects that occur to the right of the colon ( : ) in an activated ability are part of the effect of the ability and only happen upon resolution of the ability. As naming a card is not a part of the standard procedure for “playing an ability” (CR 903) you are not required to name until the ability successfully resolves.
God’s art effects “once per game” limitation is based upon the name of the ability, so even if you play a separate Alice, or remove and play the same one again, only 1 “Azure Bonds” may be used the whole game.
 
CR “”1112.2. “[God’s Art] <ability name> < activate ability >” means “<ability name> You can play <ability name> only once per game.””
 
 
 
Question 8) A
                The steps for playing a spell or ability are laid out, in order, in CR 903.
 
CR”” 903.2c. If the card being played has an [Awakening] (1109), choose whether or not to awaken that card or not.””

CR”” 903.2e. If a card or ability has the text “choose (number)”, the player chooses that number of options in that text. Options not chosen are treated as if they didn’t exist””

CR”” 903.2g. If the card or ability needs targets, the controller chooses legal ones. If they cannot choose a legal target, they cannot play the card or ability.””

CR”” 903.2j. Do the things required to play the card or ability. If they cannot do any part of them, they cannot play the card or ability. If any part of them is replaced by a replacement effect, it is still treated as if they did it.””
 
Question 9) B
                The “Battling” condition is applied in CR 804.5
 
CR”” 804.5. From this point, the attacking battles with another J/resonator as long as the condition is met.””
 
Question 10) D
You may use abilities that Rest your ruler in response to your own Judgement, as Judgement only cares about your ruler’s orientation at the time it is played onto the chase, it is NOT checked again when it resolves.  Orientation of the Ruler is maintained as it enters the field.
 
CR”” 705.1. The turn player may play a judgment process if it is main timing, they have a recovered ruler with [Judgment] in their ruler area, and they haven’t played a judgment process this turn.””
CR”” 705.3. When a Judgment process on the chase resolves, perform the following procedures.
705.3a. If that ruler is in a ruler area, the player who performed the judgment puts their ruler into the field under their control, J-ruler side up. From that point onward, the card is a J-ruler””
CR”” 302.3. If a card moves from one zone to another, if it moves from the field to a ruler area, or from a ruler area to the field, it’s treated as the same card and keeps its orientation.””
 
Question 11) C
Charlotte’s protector is discarded as part of resolving Heavenly Fruit. Automatic abilities cannot be placed on the chase in the middle of a card resolving so you finish resolving fruit first. Fruit gets removed because its effect is applied and then it attempts to move from the chase to grave, but now the replacement effect is active, so it gets removed. Now that the card has finished resolving, triggered automatics are placed onto the chase.
 
CR “”602.1. When players perform a priority sequence, do the following:
602.1a. If there are any rule processes to perform, do them. Repeat this while there are still rule processes left to perform left.
602.1b. Choose and play triggered automatic abilities “”
Question 12) B, D
Dawn of the Earth’s first effect will prevent Niddhogg from entering the field again, as it is entering the field without being played.
Aimul’s ruler ability will recover Niddhogg, making it an illegal target upon the resolution of Lumia’s ability since Lumia’s ability requires a rested target.
Barrier on a resonator only protects from the opponent of the resonator’s owner, so because it is Andy’s resonator he can still target it.
End of days doesn’t affect Lumia’s ruler ability since it replaces the “remove target resonator form the game” part of the ability with “remove from the game” essentially having no effect since it is still going to the same place, thus Lumia can still “see” it there. This is unfortunately not really clarified anywhere in the CR but the ruling has been passed down from official FoW staff and can be found in the Facebook ruling pages.
 
CR”” 903.3a. If the card or ability requires you to choose target, check the target at this point. If it’s not legal, all effects involving it are not applied. Even if all the targets of the card or ability are illegal, the other effects not related to the targets is still resolved.””
CR”” 1120.2. If a card has “[Barrier]”, it means “This card cannot be targeted by spells or abilities controlled by a player other than the controller of this card.””
 
Question 13) A,B
Scarlett’s agony explicitly states it stops attacking, which removes the resonator from battle and changing control ceases the attack per CR 803.5a.
 
CR”” 803.5a. In this battle, if the attacking J/resonator becomes a non-J/resonator, loses its ATK or DEF, moves to a non-field zone, or changes its controller, the J/resonator stops being the attacking J/resonator.””
 
Question 14) B,C
Both Limit and Drain are automatic abilities, so if a resonator has multiple instances of either, then each instance will trigger separately and resolve separately, giving them functionality in multiples.
 
CR”” 1118.2. “[Limit] ” means “This card comes into the field with limit counter(s) on it.” and “Whenever this card attacks or blocks => remove a limit counter from this card.”.””
CR”” 1135.2. „[Drain]‟ means, „Whenever this card deals damage ⇒ You gain that much life‟.””
 
Question 15) B,D
Intervention of Reality requires an addition to be targeted for its Legend 3 effect, since Legend is considered additional text.
Soul concentration can be used to gain 3 mystery counters.
Null darkness requires a resonator to be targeted as Null is also additional text.
Encounter with Cthulhu can still be played since it does not target any resonators.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Question 16) A
You can call a stone and then judgement, if your ruler is still recovered. You cannot call a stone if a judgement process has been performed already.  This is because the rules for calling a stone say you cannot have judgemented this turn, but the rules for judgementing only require a recovered Ruler.
 
CR”” 710. Call a Magic Stone
710.1. The turn player rests his or her ruler or J-ruler if it is main timing, he or she hasn’t called a magic stone and they haven’t played a judgment process this turn””
CR”” 705.1. The turn player may play a judgment process if it is main timing, they have a recovered ruler with [Judgment] in their ruler area, and they haven’t played a judgment process this turn.””
 
Question 17) E
Cheshire cannot gain any of these abilities since those cards are granted these symbol skills by an effect, and the effects that grant them symbol skill are only applied once they are in the field.  So they are not considered to have those symbol skills either in the hand or in the removed from game zone.
Question 18) A,B
A “will ability” is defined as an activated ability which requires no target and produces one or more will. 
Sacred Elf’s ability is a will ability, so is not affected by the Seal of Neo barrier, but is affected by the first ability.
Sprit Stones “banish” effect is NOT a will ability, so Nicole will not be able to use it.
Majin stones “2 will ability” is still a will ability, so it is still usable.
Fiery Fox’s ability is NOT a will ability, so it is unable to be played.
Flute’s water dragon is a continuous ability and is not any sort of activated ability, so it is completely unaffected by Neo barrier of shadows.
 
CR”” 907.1. Activate abilities that need no target and produce wills are will abilities””
CR”” 901.1a. Activated abilities are abilities with text “<cost> ( : ) <effect>””
 
Question 19) B
If there are multiple effect that are modifying the stats of a resonator, they are all applied in the order that they were played. So, Alice world is applied first, then it is buffed by rapid growth, and then it becomes a 4/4 so the final stats are 4/4.
 
CR”” 909.3. If two or more continuous effects are applied at the same time in the above conditions, apply them in the order below:
“”909.3b. If the order is not decided after this, apply the effect earlier applied first. The timing of an effect applied is determined as this; at the time the continuous ability became active, or the time the effect is made by an ability. In the case of an addition added to a card where that addition creates a continuous effect, the effect becomes active when the addition is added onto that card. If, for any reason the timing is still the same, the turn player at the time decides which one applies first.””
 
Question 20) D
Because planting beans states that the card first moves to the graveyard and then hand, as it moves through a public zone it becomes public knowledge.
None of the other options state for you to reveal the card, and they all have a card moving from a hidden zone to another hidden zone.
 
CR”” 302.2. Each zone is divided into “public zone” and “hidden zone”. Each player can see information of the cards in a public zone. Each player cannot see information of cards in a hidden zone, except for a player specifically allowed to see them by rules or effects.””
CR”” 304.2. Each player has their own main deck zone, it’s hidden and the order of the cards is managed. The order of cards is managed by stacking them.””
CR”” 305.2. Each player has their own magic stone deck zone, it’s hidden and the order of the cards is managed. The order of cards is managed by stacking them.””
CR”” 309.2. Each player has their own graveyard, its public and the order of the cards is managed.””
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you everyone who made it to the end, I hope these explanations helped you better understand WHY certain scenarios work they way they do. 
If anything here is unclear or you have any ruling questions of your own, I would like to suggest that you head on over to the Facebook page “Force of Will Judge Questions”, you can search through a wealth of previous rulings, and there are pretty much always judges online who can provide you with rulings you may need 🙂
Finally, I would like to thank the team at TCG Scrubs for hosting my article, as well as inviting me onto their YouTube channel to explain these answers as well.

Author


Avatar